Reviews

These online reviews are in chronological order and include reviews posted by students, a music transcription client, singing telegram recipients, and live music clients. The actual reviews are verbatim and not edited (except in some cases for obvious grammatical errors). You can click the link at the top of each review to see the original as it was posted on the respective site. If you are interested in seeing evaluations written by my college students, please click here.

(If you want to review JLA Music click here.)


On Google+
Ethan H
5 star
March 20th, 2017

Incredible experience. I learned more here in a few months than college taught me in 2 years. The style of teaching works very well with individual's needs and goals. I highly recommend taking lessons here.


On Google+
Kim L
5 star
March 20th, 2017

Jeff played a song to commemorate my mother's retirement and it really was the icing on the cake. He did a fantastic job and I was extremely impressed with his ability and professionalism. I would definitely recommend and use JLA's services in the future.


On Google+
Sarah R
5 star
September 7th, 2015

Jeff was awesome with the wedding ceremony! He drove over 200 miles just to be at the rehearsal! The music sounded amazing and he was a pleasure to do business with! I would definitely recommend him for any service you may need!


On Google+
Neal M
5 star
August 31st, 2015

Jeff played and sang two songs for our 40th wedding anniversary party. He had never previously performed the two songs that I chose. But, with less than a week to prepare, he did a stellar performance that had most everyone teary-eyed with happiness. My wife said Jeff's music was the best part of our celebration! Thanks to Jeff for making our evening so special.


On Google+
Gloria P
5 star
June 26th, 2015

Jeff has greatly helped me through his transcription work on a complex piece on acoustic guitar by Ben Lapps. He works efficiently and respectably and has been an amazing help to me! The sophistication and clarity in his work is outstanding and his capability of producing the transcription within only a short time frame was a heaven sent! I would defiantly recommend his transcription service for any one in need and will defiantly be keeping JLA music in mind for any of my future needs. Thanks Jeff for your 5 star service and for your passionate and considerate attitude and communication towards your clients :)


On Facebook
Cathy C
5 star
May 30th, 2015

We are THRILLED that our granddaughter is learning guitar from a renowned professional guitarist. He enjoys teaching and is patient and kind with his students. He has even made CDs featuring his students. This certainly was exciting for our granddaughter!


Yelp Review
Alex T.
Mission Viejo, CA
5.0 star rating
May 12th, 2015

I took a few months of lessons with Jeff, and got exactly what I wanted out of them. He is very student-oriented, and will teach you what you want to know. I considered myself a beginner looking to transition to the intermediate level, and so Jeff was able to accommodate my request to learn more about music theory/chord progressions/etc than just rote memorization of songs. I'm confident that he would be a competent instructor for students of younger ages as well.


On Google+
Ray N
5 star rating
May 11, 2015

Jeff has instructed me in classical guitar for three years. He has instructed my son for two years in piano. I can safely say Jeff is one of the most knowledgeable music instructors in Grand Forks and North Dakota. His expertise as a guitarist and pianist is impressive. I recommend him as a guitar or piano teacher for very young children to older adults (like me).


On Facebook
Paul Clark
5 star
May 2015

Jeff taught me good technique with a kind sense of humor - thirty years later I still use the exercises he taught me as warm-ups, and the good form I learned from him has been the basis for everything I've done since as a jazz guitarist. He has equally big ears, brain and heart, and his playing is an inspiration for all who play, from beginner to veteran musician.


On Google+
Mary B
5 star
February 22nd, 2015

I was sent a musical Birthday Gram from a friend, and I was more than pleasantly surprised at just how wonderful it was! Jeff was able to orchestrate the entire event with my co-workers and did such an amazing job providing a wonderful birthday surprise! I would definitely recommend JLA Music to anyone looking for quality, professional, and excellent service! Thanks so much, Jeff!


On WyzAnt
"Great tutor"
Dhan
Grand Forks, ND
5.0 stars
1/12/2015

I'm very much thankful to great tutor, Jeff. He is really so friendly and tutors lessons in a simple way and in simple language. He repeats the lesson as many times until we understand, which is his best quality, and which a good teacher should have. I would also like to thank WyzAnt for helping me to connect with great tutor, Jeff.


On Facebook
John Kevin Allensworth
5 star
2014

Highly skilled musician who loves music of many genres. Jeff loves sharing his musical skills with every student! Want to learn a blues song, Jeff will give you patient and fun instruction. Same goes if you want to learn a classical piece by Fernando Sor! Or a jazz classic from the many great songs of the last 100 years. He can also rock out! But if just want to write your own compositions, Jeff will show you step by step how to create written music... and engineer and record your creations! A great guy and fabulous musician and teacher!


On Facebook
Kayla Jo Loughead
5 star
2014

Jeff had the task of trying to teach me when I was in my young teenage years and when doing anything my mom wanted me to do was pure torture. Even with his best efforts and my moms nagging encouragement, I didn't practice nearly as much as I should have. That doesn't mean Jeff didn't teach me a great deal. I give Jeff credit for my appreciation of great musicians and love for classical music. He is one of the most accepting and encouraging people I've ever had the pleasure of having in my life. Overall, Jeff is a fantastic teacher and amazing person.


On Facebook
Susan Reck
5 star
2014

Jeff is amazing. He's been a big part of his students success and passion for music.


On Wedding Wire
Private User
5.0 out of 5.0 stars
2014

Mr. Anvinson played for our wedding in 1995--yes, he's been around for a while. He brought his classic guitar and played as a prelude to the Mass and wedding ceremony. It was a real treat, and a lot of friends and relatives came up to me afterward and commented how they "never heard anyone play a guitar like that." Def. worth the money.


On Wedding Wire
Private User
5.0 stars
2014

I don't know of any other guitarist in Grand Forks with his versatility. I especially like his classic guitar selections. Adds a classy ambiance to the social setting without being overpowering, like when you have a full band or some guy wailing a sad song on a microphone.


On Wedding Wire
Lisa
5.0 stars
12/07/2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with Jeff's guitar playing. We had a classy Christmas office party and Jeff's playing was a big part of that! His music was so beautiful & EXACTLY what we were looking for. I loved listening to his Christmas music in the background all evening. He came early & did a great job setting up, tearing down & was very professional. I wouldn't hesitate to hire him again in a minute. He was very affordable & I think he doesn't charge enough! The quality was amazing.


On LinkedIn
Stig Helge Blindheim-Hansen
Owner, Feedback Studios
May 25th, 2012

Jeff is an excellent guitar and music teacher who cares about his students. He values all the creative processes that music contains, from effective studying new pieces of music, dynamics, to composing and improvising. He is a great positive force for his students, which creates a steady platform to learn on. I recommend Jeff highly.

Website and most graphics are created inhouse by JLA Music
Some graphics are purchased from Can Stock Photo, used by permission, and are Copyright © Can Stock Photo
JLA Music takes care not to infringe on anyone's rights. Please contact us at jla@jlamusic.com if you have questions.